Portrait

Oliver

This framed drawing that I did in 1992 sits gathering dust in amongst other framed stuff that gets no wall space.

It is my son at the age of two and I used three colours of charcoal pencil.

I thought at the time maybe I would show it and do more pictures like this but it was quite hard work and that is good if you are doing the picture of someone you know and want to capture. I think I must have reworked the eyes about three times til I got it just right. It’s always the eyes that seem to give a person that individual distinction. Well, usually anyway.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I suppose it would have been nice to have done a lot more portraits of the children as their faces changed and got older but I never got around to that somehow. (photos seemed a little more instant!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So as it turns out this portrait was more or less a one off!

I like it because it is a rarity in that I actually sat down and focused and put some proper hard work into it,although usually I prefer to work a lttle more fluidly and the shoulder is a little narrow. ( I don’t think the paper was that good as it seems to wrinkling a little……..)

Leave a Reply

